SmP bags

SmP 2014 wrap up

The 14th Science meets Parliament (SmP) attracted 200 scientists from across the nation, and more than half the Federal Parliament, with 130 Federal Parliamentarians taking meetings and attending events.

Here’s a summary of the event:


Day 1

The Hon Bill Shorten MP: Leader of the Opposition address

Gala dinner

The Hon Ian Macfarlane MP, Minister for Industry: Ministerial statement

Professor Christine Bennett AO, Dean, School of Medicine Sydney, The University of Notre Dame Australia: Keynote address

Dr Kia Wallwork, Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO): Sponsor’s address

Day 2

Professor Ian Chubb AC: National Press Club address

Videos from Day 1

Simon France (Questacon): Inspiring Australia: how can we help you communicate your science?

The Hon Bill Shorten MP: Opposition leader address

Dr Subho Banerjee (Department of Industry): A guided tour through the policy factory

Dr Inger Mewburn (ANU): How to tweet like a pro

Kylie Walker (Australian Academy of Science), Lyndal Curtis (ABC News 24) and James Massola (Fairfax Media): How journalists work and how to help them make your science into news

Dr Rod Lamberts and Dr Will Grant (ANU): Getting your science out of the lab

Dr Simon James (Australian Synchrotron), Dr Ross Thompson (University of Canberra) and Dr Jason Potas (ANU): Your science in 60 seconds

Professor Hugh White (ANU) and Professor Will Steffen (climate researcher): “How to talk like a policy maker” and “Raising the standard of the climate ‘debate’: what ‘debate’?”


Day 1

National Gallery

Gala dinner

Day 2

National Press Club

Parliament House

Social media

Twitter hashtag #smp2014

Find out more about SmP here.


This project has been funded by the Australian Government Department of Industry.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *