Science meets Business 2016

Science meets Business logo

Science meets Business brings together business leaders and scientists to foster STEM industry collaboration, to broker better mutual understanding between science and business and to promote opportunities for innovation.

Speakers included:

  • Hon Craig Laundy MP, Assistant Minister for Innovation, Industry and Science
  • Senator the Hon Kim Carr, Shadow Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science
  • Joanna Batstone, Vice President and Lab Director, IBM Research - Australia and Chief Technology Officer, IBM Australia and New Zealand
  • Professor Ian Chubb AC, former Chief Scientist for Australia
  • Professor Aidan Byrne, CEO, Australian Research Council
  • Professor Anne Kelso AO, CEO, National Health and Medical Research Council
  • Dr Jackie Fairley, CEO, Starpharma, and Commonwealth Science Council member
  • Dr Hugh Bradlow, Chief Scientist, Telstra
  • Professor Jane den Hollander, Vice-Chancellor, Deakin University
  • Dr Katherine Woodthorpe, Chair, Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre, and company director
  • Dr Bronwyn Evans, Chair, Industry Growth Centre for Medical Technologies and Pharmaceuticals
  • Professor Beth Webster, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Policy and Impact) and Director, Centre for Transformative Innovation, Swinburne University of Technology
  • Ms Elizabeth Lewis-Gray, Chair, Industry Growth Centre for Mining Equipment, Technology and Services

Science meets Business 2016 would not have been possible without the support of our generous sponsors and partners, particularly our major supporter, the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.

Our other sponsors and partners were:

  • Platinum sponsor:   CSIRO
  • Gold sponsors:   Defence  Science and Technology Group; Lockheed Martin
  • Silver sponsor:   University of technology Sydney: Science
  • Bronze sponsors:   Deakin University; Macquarie University; National Computational Infrastructure; Taylor & Francis Group; Australian Academy of Science
  • Media partner: Refraction Media
  • Catering partners: The Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering