2020 STA Board nominations

Science & Technology Australia invites candidates for several positions on our Board.

To nominate, you must be a member of an STA ordinary member (non-affiliate). You can find the full list of eligible organisations here.

We seek outstanding candidates to make an active, thoughtful, skilled and principled contribution to STA.

In line with our forthcoming Reconciliation Action Plan commitments, we particularly welcome nominations from Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

We also seek nominations from candidates with experience or qualifications in law/governance, financial management, or HR.

We encourage candidates from other traditionally under-represented groups including people with disability, members of the LGBTIQ+ community, and strong cultural diversity.

Candidates from the historically under-represented States/Territories – especially Tasmania, the Northern Territory and Western Australia – are also encouraged to nominate.

Positions currently vacant

We are currently accepting nominations for the following Cluster Group representatives (you will find a position description for the roles here) for two-year appointments to the STA Board:

  • Agricultural and food sciences*
  • Biological Sciences*
  • Chemical Sciences*
  • Geological and Geographical Sciences*
  • Mathematical sciences*
  • Physical sciences*
  • Plant and Ecological sciences*
  • Technological sciences*
  • General member representative (Non-disciplinary based. Must be a member of an ordinary member in any cluster and a member of or employed by a member in the General Cluster)

*Must be a member of an ordinary member in the cluster for which you nominate.

Before nominating, please read the position description for STA Board Members. It outlines responsibilities and time commitments. Please also note that nominees must sign a declaration that their cluster-aligned membership organisation is aware of their nomination.

Nominations can be made online here


26 August 2020 – Applications open

30 September 2020 – Applications close

7-16 October 2020 – Cluster Elections

29 October 2020 – Announcement of new Cluster Representatives