Science meets Parliament logo

Science meets Parliament - 2017 Program

Science meets Parliament 2017 will have a vast array of professional development opportunities, fascinating presentations, and educational offerings. See the full Program for the two days below:

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Time Description
8:30 AM - 9:00 AM Delegate registration
9:00 AM - 9:10 AM Welcome and overview
9:10 AM - 9:35 AM Opening address by Dr Alan Finkel, Australia's Chief Scientist
9:35 AM - 9:40 AM Sponsor address
9:40 AM - 10:35 AM Meet the Media - Turning science into news
Featuring Ashley Hall, Executive Producer, ABC Radio’s AM Program; Alice Workman, Political reporter, Buzzfeed; Dr Susannah Eliott, CEO, Australian Science Media Centre; and James Massola, Chief Political Correspondent, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age.
11:15 AM - 12:10 PM Getting into policy: how science is used to shape public policy
Featuring Kylie Walker, CEO, STA; Dr Alex Zelinsky, Chief Defence Scientist; Dr Subho Banerjee, Deputy Secretary, Department of Education and Training; and Professor Anne Kelso, CEO, NHMRC.
12:10 PM - 12:15 PM Sponsor address
12:15 PM - 1:10 PM How to convince a parliamentarian: hear from the experts
Featuring Anna-Maria Arabia, CEO Australian Academy of Science; Gail Morgan, Associate Partner, Newgate Australia; and Milton Catelin, CEO, Medicines Australia (@MedicinesAus)
1:10 PM - 2:10 PM Working Lunch
2:10 PM - 2:20 PM Who is Inspiring Australia? by Dr Bobby Cerini, National Manager, Inspiring Australia Programme
2:20 PM - 2:35 PM Science meets Parliament comes of age: connections and collaborations by Professor Ken Baldwin, Director, Energy Change Institute, ANU, and founder of Science meets Parliament
2:45 PM - 3:15 PM Afternoon tea
3:15 PM - 4:50 PM Your science in 60 seconds - interactive session rehearsing for parliamentary meetings
Presented by Dr Merryn McKinnon, Lecturer, Centre for the Public Awareness of Science, ANU; and Dr Will Grant, Lecturer, Centre for the Public Awareness of Science, ANU.
4:50 PM - 5:00 PM Feedback and close
6:30 PM - 10:00 PM Gala Dinner
MC: Bernie Hobbs, ABC science broadcaster TBC
The Hon Malcolm Turnbull, Prime Minister
The Hon Bill Shorten MP, Leader of the Opposition
• Sponsor address: ANSTO

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Time Description
8:00 AM - 9:00 AM Delegates arrive
PLEASE NOTE the following sessions are for delegates to attend when not meeting with Parliamentarians
9:20 AM - 10:00 AM In conversation: exploring the big issues for STEM Professor Alan Mackay-Sim, Australian of the Year
10:00 AM - 10:45 AM Meet the Shadow Minister, Senator the Hon Kim Carr
10:45 AM - 11:15 AM Morning tea
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM Live audience for nationally televised National Press Club Address by Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science, Senator the Hon Arthur Sinodinos AO.
12:30 PM - 2:00 PM Lunch (for delegates unable to attend the Press Club)
2:00 PM - 3:00 PM Parliamentary Question Time
3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Afternoon Break (delegate leisure time)
4:00 PM - 5:00 PM Parlimentary Forum: Science and politics how do they mix?
Chair: Principal Di Martin Consultancy, Di Martin
The Hon Craig Laundy MP, Assistant Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science
The Hon Karen Andrews MP, Assistant Minister for Vocational Education and Skills (@KarenAndrewsMP)
The Hon Richard Marles MP, Shadow Minister for Defence
Adam Bandt, MP, Australian Greens spokesperson for science (@AdamBandt)
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM Parliamentary Friends of Science Networking Drinks