The Federation

The Federation meets at least once a year at an Annual General Meeting. All members are entitled to vote at these meetings, which are the only mechanism to change the constitution (download the constitution here).

The Board

The Board is responsible for the strategy, governance and membership functions of Science & Technology Australia. It is made up of the Executive and 12 cluster representatives, each of whom are the chosen by STA members.

Ten of these positions are elected by disciplinary-based groups, and the remaining two represent general members which are not primarily disciplinary-based.

The Executive

The Executive is delegated by the Board to manage the ordinary operations of the organisation.

It consists of nine members - the Chief Executive Officer and eight elected members.

Three levels of organisation make up Science & Technology Australia


Elected in even years

  • President-elect (1-year term) who assumes
    the Presidency in the odd year (for 2 years)
  • Secretary (2-year term)
  • Chair, Policy Committee (2-year term)
  • Early Career Scientist (2-year term)

Elected in odd years

  • Vice-President (2-year term)
  • Treasurer (2-year term)
  • Ordinary Member (1-year term)
  • Early Career Scientist (2-year term)