Science meets Parliament


The 15th annual Science meets Parliament takes place on 24 and 25 March 2015. It will bring 200 working scientists to Canberra for a two-day program of professional development and networking aimed at helping them better communicate their science to the media, policymakers and parliamentarians.

Registrations are now open. Only Science & Technology Australia members are eligible to attend. Attendance is by invitation.

Day 1: Tuesday, 24 March 2015

The first day, at the National Convention Centre, focuses on professional development. You will be involved in workshops and interactive activities and will hear from experienced policy advisers, journalists, analysts and politicians on how to engage with the media, politicians and the policymaking process.  In the evening there will be a Gala Dinner at Parliament House.

Day 2: Wednesday, 25 March 2015

The second day involves face‐to‐face meetings at Parliament House with parliamentarians. Participants are also able to engage in a range of activities, including attending a nationally televised National Press Club address, participating in Q&A directly with parliamentarians, and observing Question Time in the House of Representatives or the Senate. Our home base for the day is the Parliamentary Theatrette.

More information is available in the Delegates Guide.

The program is available from here.

Confirmed speakers for the 2015 Science meets Parliament include:

Professor Ian Chubb AC, Chief Scientist for Australia
Professor Brian Schmidt AC, Nobel Laureate and Australian Research Council Laureate Fellow, ANU
Mr Martin Hoffman, Deputy Secretary, Science Group, Department of Industry and Science
Professor Graham Durant, Director, Questacon
Professor Hugh White AO, Professor of Strategic Studies, ANU
Mr Martin Laverty, CEO, Royal Flying Doctors Service
Dr Barbara Carney, Director, Carney Associates and former Chief of Staff to Peter Costello and Michael Wooldridge
Ms Jannette Cotterell, Managing Director, Executive Council Australia
Mr Simon Banks, Managing Director, Hawker Britton
Ms Alison Carabine, Political Editor, ABC Radio National Breakfast
Mr James Massola, Political Correspondent, Fairfax Media
Dr Rod Lamberts, Deputy Director, Centre for the Public Awareness of Science, ANU
Dr Will Grant, Lecturer, Centre for the Public Awareness of Science, ANU
Dr Ross Smith, President, Science & Technology Australia
Catriona Jackson, Chief Executive Officer, Science & Technology Australia

Gala Dinner:
The Hon Ian Macfarlane MP, Minister for Industry and Science
The Hon Bill Shorten MP, Leader of the Opposition
Catherine Livingstone AO, President, Business Council of Australia
MC: Adam Spencer, science broadcaster and comedian

Science meets Parliament 2015 is funded by the Australian Government Department of Industry.



Science meets Parliament aims to help you understand how politics, policymaking and the media work, and gives you an opportunity to look at your science from a different perspective.

This annual forum aims to:

  • give scientists unique personal development opportunities,
  • build mutual understanding and connections between scientists, parliamentarians and the policy process,
  • stimulate and inform Parliament’s discussion of scientific issues that underpin Australia’s economic, social and environmental wellbeing,
  • improve the understanding of science through the wider community,
  • build links between scientists, politicians and policymakers that open up avenues for information and idea exchanges into the future, and
  • give scientists an outlook for opportunities that may require the input of scientific knowledge to further the interests of the nation.

This annual event is strongly supported by the Federal Government and Opposition, engages most MPs and a large number of scientists.

In 2004, the founder of Science Meets Parliament, Professor Ken Baldwin, was awarded the Australian Government Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Science, which is awarded to individuals or groups for outstanding works of science communication.

View the 2014 speakers’ list here.

If you’re interested, you can view last year’s program here



Registration Type AUD$

Delegate Registration 890.00
Early Career Scientists Postgraduate students and Early Career Researchers have their dinner and registration fees subsidised by STA as an additional benefit of membership. 575.00

Delegate Registration excluding Dinner 680.00
Early Career Scientist excluding Dinner 420.00

Further information

Terms & Conditions here.

Accommodation options here.

Every Science & Technology Australia member is entitled to register two people to attend Science meets Parliament 2015. Let the president of your scientific society (which is a member of STA) know that you’d like to attend.

Not sure if your scientific society is a member of STA? Check our list of members here.

Interested in becoming an STA member? Click here to find out more.

Inquiries:  or (02) 6257 2891

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *